Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

Peeling

Aug 19, 2019 @ 8:00 pm - Sep 2, 2019 @ 8:00 pm

$5 – $75

In the U.S. premiere of playwright Kaite O’ Reilly’s internationally renowned play “peeling,” Sound Theatre Company continues staging authentic narratives and breaking new theatrical ground. ​peeling ​ weaves audio description, sign language, and theatrical spectacle into a no-holds-barred play about representation, women, reproduction, war, and eugenics.

In an overproduced, postmodern production of Euripides’ ​The Trojan Women, Alfa, Coral, and Beaty have been cast in bit parts to fulfill a playhouse’s misplaced diversity program; but as tokens, the trio never experiences true inclusion. Sound Theatre centers disability justice by assembling a production team and cast that brings authentic lived experiences to this groundbreaking play.

8PM Thursday, August 8 (Preview)

8PM Friday, August 9 (Preview)

8PM Saturday, August 10 (Opening)

2PM Sunday, August 11

8PM Thursday, August 15

8PM Friday, August 16 (ASL-Interpreted)

8PM Saturday, August 17

2PM Sunday, August 18 (CART captioned)

8PM Monday, August 19 (Industry Night)

8PM Thursday, August 22 (ASL-Interpreted, CART captioned)

8PM Friday, August 23

8PM Saturday, August 24 (Closing Night)

Details

Start:
Aug 19, 2019 @ 8:00 pm
End:
Sep 2, 2019 @ 8:00 pm
Cost:
$5 – $75
Event Categories:
, , ,
Website:
https://www.artful.ly/sound-theatre-company--1/store/events/17441

Organizer

Sound Theatre Company
Phone:
2068803947
Email:
media@soundtheatrecompany.org
Website:
www.soundtheatrecompany.org

Venue

The Center Theatre at the Armory
305 Harrison Street
Seattle, WA 98109 United States
+ Google Map
Website:
http://seattlecenter.com/locations/detail.aspx?id=62

Post your event to The Seattle Globalist calendar »

Make a correction, delete your event, or report a problem with an event listing on The Seattle Globalist calendar  »

Calendar event posts are submitted by members of the public and/or by organizations unaffiliated with The Seattle Globalist. Questions about individual events, postings and images used in calendar items should be directed toward the event organizers, who are responsible for the content.